Go play somewhere else
by Volker Weber
OK, I have a solution of sorts to referrer spam - I bounce it back to them. I have almost eliminated it, except for one from h*hproftclub who refuses to go away. To be really EVIL, I’ve redirected that spammers output alone to the signup page at www.webclipping.com/signup.html. Probably not entirely ethical but then we’re dealing with two unethical orgs - why not play them off against each other? (Yeah I know, two wrongs…)
It does mean more crap in my log file (the way I have it set up) but it’s fun. Now, my log file sees an attempt to access a page on my site, which is redirected. However, because of the way it is redirected the bot still thinks it is on MY site - so I also get to see the cgi request. For example:
207.248.240.119 - - [04/Mar/2005:06:19:37 -0600] "GET /cgi-bin/signup.cgi?cname=web+poker&caddress=+%3Ch1%3EYou+can+a...
So now webclippings are being auto-spammed by a spammer! We hate them both - now they can hate each other. And I think I am effectively hidden from this loop, thanks to how these redirects work. It just looks like h**hprofit is spamming them direct!
Ha ha ha! Death to the spammer…
Comments
Komisch, diese Art von stupidity häuft sich in den letzten Tagen - bei mir und einem Kommentar-Schreiber sind es zufälligerweise alles Schweizer User...
Absolutely the same situation here - same IP address hits my RSS feed, then tries to hit a malformed URL for each RSS'd blog entry in 1 second intervals. Go away, news.allresearch.com!
Tell them to go somewhere else. ;-)
The domain is registered to a guy in NY, the web site says their location is LA.
/k
Registrant:
SILVERMAN, NOAH (ALLRESEARCH4-DOM)
276 CANAL ST FL 7
NEW YORK, NY 10013-3531
US
Domain Name: ALLRESEARCH.COM
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
SILVERMAN, NOAH (NXS699) noah@webclipping.com
276 CANAL ST FL 7
NEW YORK, NY 10013-3531
US
212 965 1900 fax: 212 965 8733
Record expires on 12-Sep-2009.
Record created on 13-Sep-1998.
Database last updated on 8-Oct-2004 09:40:39 EDT.
Domain servers in listed order:
AUTH1.DNS.COGENTCO.COM 66.28.0.14
AUTH2.DNS.COGENTCO.COM 66.28.0.30
Tell them to go somewhere else. ;-)
Ok. That would be easy:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{REMOTE_ADDR} ^38\.144\.36\.16
RewriteRule (.*) http://webmonster.de/ [F,L]
Post a comment
Recent comments
Ingo Martinz on Meeeeeeeeeeep at 22:32
Axel Koerv on Meeeeeeeeeeep at 21:57
Roland Dressler on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 11:50
Karl Heindel on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 10:30
Jerry Preissler on LibreOffice vs Apache OpenOffice at 13:47
Mariano Kamp on How to commit at 09:41
Bernd Vellguth on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 02:05
Thilo Hamberger on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 16:40
Jens Bruntt on Free PlayBook for your Android app submission at 11:47
Karl Heindel on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 20:26
Roland Dressler on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 15:12
Stephan H. Wissel on heise online: IBM plant Stellenabbau in Deutschland at 08:38
Jan Lauer on heise online: IBM plant Stellenabbau in Deutschland at 04:13
Juergen Heinrich on Balance at 03:29
Jörg Hermann on Girls On Longboards at 02:42
Stephan H. Wissel on heise online: IBM plant Stellenabbau in Deutschland at 23:21
Joerg Michael on heise online: IBM plant Stellenabbau in Deutschland at 21:01
Ben Poole on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 19:46
David Hablewitz on BlackBerry Business Cloud Services with Microsoft Office 365 at 16:44
Patrick Picard on RIM tries to be social. Falls flat on face. at 16:00
Volker Weber on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 10:29
Richard Hogan on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 10:26
Joachim Haydecker on Girls On Longboards at 08:26
Karl Heindel on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 07:50
Keith Brooks on Outlook to Notes converter: from PST to NSF at 04:21


